Dare I say it?

I think it is quite possible that I will learn just as much as the girls will from homeschooling. Have you seen this so-called ‘new math’? Try explaining to an 8 year old why you have to regroup the tens or add up to the nearest whole number, then subtract the difference from the difference. Yes, that is what I meant to type. It didn’t make a whole lot of sense to my 1990’s math brain, either. Used to be that someone would just borrow 10 from the column to the left to figure out what 274-197 was.

And language! The only thing I remember about parts of a sentence is what I learned from MadLibs. Now, not only can I tell you what a simple subject, a simple predicate, complete subject, and a complete predicate are, I can also combine them! Good thing too; my grammar is spotty on my blog. Heh.

As far as science is concerned, we’re chugging right along. I’ll be the first to tell you that universe science is of no use or interest to me. Until I hear from CNN that Ceres is planning on making Earth’s atmosphere it’s new home… Well, I just don’t care. This quarter is all universe science, too. Next quarter, we start with Earth science. Now THAT is something I can sink my teeth into!

Is it pathetic that I have learned more in the past 10 years that I have been OUT of school than I did while I was IN school? I learn more from Google than anyone. Don’t know the answer? Google it. Can’t find  a place on a map? Google it. Need to see what a glockenspiel is? Google Image Search.And if I need to know more about the universe, I’ll check out Google Sky.

Perhaps I should turn over my homeschool parent responsibility to Google.  Perhaps some of the school districts should turn over their teaching responsibilities to Google….

I jest, I jest.

In all seriousness, HS’ing is going great so far! We’re also doing a big ol’ study on Pioneer America, which includes all the Little House books, and a fabulous book called the Prairie Primer. Check it out.

That’s all for now. Our day starts bright & early… Oh, wait. No it doesn’t. We start at roughly 9, sometimes 10. In our PJ’s.

Why WOULDN’T you homeschool, with perks like that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dare I say it?

  1. Rosi says:

    I have to say I entirely agree with homeschooling. I have several friends who do it and it really seems to work out well for the kids. I think they get so much more learning in that setting without all the social distractions. Personally it could not work in my household 😦 We have split custody of my step sons so each week they switch homes, its 50/50 split.

    I do remember actually crying in my room one day after trying to help Robert with his 4th grade homework… I didn’t understand the work and felt like a complete idiot! That was a few years ago now, I just do my best and say “you should have paid more attention in class” lol

    Good luck with it, your kids will benefit greatly!

    • Cheryce says:

      They are doing really well! It works great with them because they can work at their own pace, and usually one of them needs more time with math than most kids would before she *gets it*.

      #4 is with her dad for school, and I wonder how they will differ as they grow up, with two being homeschooled, and one being public schooled. It’ll be interesting to see.

      Yeah, the way we were taught is like, old school math. I tried to explain it to the girls and they looked at me as if I was speaking Martian or something. It DOES make sense, once you grasp the concept. (I will admit, I utilized youtube & teachertube to figure it out though! Hahaha)

Leave a Reply

