Yes, it is overdone.

God Bless The Broken Road.

We are NOT playing this at our wedding, much to my chagrin. I love it. I think the lyrics fit our stories perfectly. But it one of the most overplayed wedding songs since Pachelbel’s Canon in D… And my betrothed ix-nayed it immediately. I know YOU have heard it– everyone has heard it. Since we aren’t playing it, I thought I could use it in a blog.

Every word of this song rings true for us. The road we began walking down is a far cry from the one either of us thought we would be walking today. I find it so amazing, frustrating, and wonderful the way life works out. Sometimes– a lot of times– it seems that the harder we try to keep something (be it a person, place, or thing), the harder it is to hang onto. It’s been a rough battle through life for this lady.

And honestly, I couldn’t see why I was having to go through any of it, or why I was so unlucky as to be stuck with the life assignment I drew.Why my relationships fell apart. Why things happened the way they did.

But now I do.

I set out on a narrow way many years ago
Hoping I would find true love along the broken road
But I got lost a time or two
Wiped my brow and kept pushing through
I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you

[Chorus:]
Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

I think about the years I spent just passing through
I’d like to have the time I lost and give it back to you
But you just smile and take my hand
You’ve been there you understand
It’s all part of a grander plan that is coming true

[Chorus]

Now I’m just rolling home
Into my lover’s arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you.

All of the downright terrible things that have happened, all of the mistakes I’ve made, all of the stupid decisions that I let lead me astray have led me to here.

The day before my wedding. To my best friend, to Ryan.

I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yes, it is overdone.

  1. Heather says:

    I think it’s a very fitting song for so many things in life. If I had played it at our wedding, I would have played the original, NOT the Rascal Flatts version!

    Congratulations to you both for finding each other along the broken road!

Leave a Reply

