My close encounter with death. Kinda.

Or “The 30-Day Shred“, as some people prefer to call it.

Honestly, when I first heard about it my first thought was “no freakin way”. No way will that work, no way to exercise videos, no way to hype-fad programs. I’ve done the gym thing before. I spent HOURS at the gym each day after my fourth baby was born. NO WAY was this 20-minute routine going to get me sweatin to the oldies.

Then I tried it. I did it once, right before the holidays. I couldn’t do it all. I couldn’t keep up. I needed to take a break. I watched the last half of the routine in pseudo-shock, thinking, this woman is the devil! I put it back in the case and haven’t touched it since. But now, with our wedding in only 80 days, the need to shred a few pounds has been eating away at me. So I pulled it out again, and wound up with much of the same feelings… My legs are jello, I’m sweating, and slightly light-headed. Jillian Michaels must be the most cursed woman in America at this point. I know I was sure calling her all kinds of names as I struggled through the first workout.

But I’m doing it again tomorrow.  And the next day, and probably the one after that, too. I googled some before/after pictures of people who have  used it, and you can see the difference after a couple weeks. I want that to be ME. No jello arms for my wedding pictures! And maybe, just maybe, I can finally get rid of this post-pregnancy pooch that won’t go away. I guess that’s what happens when you have 5 kids in ten years. You carry a few pounds from the first pregnancy… another 10 from the second, 5 from the third, 10 from the second, and 20 from the last. And it sure doesn’t help that your metabolism diminishes after you reach a certain age. Well, not in the case of my Jolly Green Giant fiancé, who is 6’5 “and weighs around 150 soaking wet. Maybe, that might be an overestimate. It’s a bit frustrating to watch him chug gallons of soda & three cheeseburgers and never gain an ounce. (Totally jealous, BTW.)

Anyway, I’m setting a 60-day challenge for myself. And I’m putting it up on my blog so I have some accountability (and maybe some people to join me?! Hint, hint…) to my devoted fans. You know, all 4 of you.

Goal 1) 30-Day Shred EVERY DAY. (With some Wii Fit thrown in for fun)

Goal 2) NO SODA. Or any other drink containing 80 grams of sugar. (AKA, lots of water.)

Goal 3) Less meat, more produce. (Which we’ve started doing already)

Goal 4) Portion/snack control. I need to really look at what I’m eating and keep a diary.

Goal 5) At least 7 hours of sleep. (I typically average about 5 or 6.)

I joined SparkPeople. You should check it out if you’re interested in a healthier life style.

Ok, so there you go. My goals. What are yours? Will you join me in establishing 5 goals for the next 60 days? Create new healthy habits in your life, and hopefully firm up & slim down in the process.

What are you waiting for?!  Post your five goals in the comments, and let’s go!

This entry was posted in 60-Days. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My close encounter with death. Kinda.

  1. Jacque says:

    I put a hold request on this video from the library. I’m #42 in line for it, but I’ll give it a try once it comes up.

    You have good goals, but I might suggest building in a little bit of flexibility so if you can’t keep up with these you have some room to forgive yourself and not just give up. Like, perhaps allow yourself exactly X-ounces of soda per week then you can “dip in” when you have a serious craving but not completely feel like you ruined your goal. Same with the exercise. I have been keeping to my 30 minutes every day, with the exception that I can take one day a week off. It has been Sundays because both girls have swim lessons then we usually go to Sweet Tomatoes after for late lunch/early dinner. Just no time for me on Sundays. That’s ok, especially since I do an hour on 2 or 3 days a week so I make up for it that way.

    The food journal is a big help. Sometimes I’m so mad at myself as I enter the snacks I’ve given into, but I have to account for it and move on. One of the things I like about WW over SparkPeople is that my Points start over again on Mondays. That way, if I’ve had a bad week I can kind of “close the book” on it on Mondays and start fresh again on my goals. Otherwise, I think I would get behind on my goal and then just get frustrated and not want to try anymore.

    Good Luck!

    • Jacque says:

      Ok, I thought of a new goal to add while I was out running today. Mindless exercise makes for good “thinkin” time. 🙂 I can add to my list that I will from now on work off all excess! For me, on WW, that means since I have 26 points per day and I typically go over and use 30-33 points a day that means that I can no longer quit with a 3or 4 point workout (approx. 30 min on the stationary bike). If I go over 6 points, then I will increase my workout to compensate for that. This would work with calories counting too, of course.

      So, it may not sound like much but believe me this will be a bit of a challenge for me. 🙂

      • Cheryce says:

        It is so hard to make lasting changes to your lifestyle. I’ve done this before, and then missed or “messed up” a day or two, and just quit. That’s why new years resolutions don’t work, either. Too much pressure. So this time, I’m taking set-backs in stride & just moving ahead from there. I didn’t do the Shred either weekend day last week, but that’s ok. It’s the days I make the effort that count!

        GL with the points. I’ve been looking into WW, but I’m throwing it all out there with this Shred program for now. 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    I love Sparkpeople! I’ve been using it for a few weeks.. do you have a phone you can get the mobile app too? I use it for my iPhone and it’s a great one. Good luck to you! I might have to check out the shred too..

    • Cheryce says:

      You know, I signed up for it & then haven’t done much since. I’ve been using the FitDay website too. You can track your activity, moods, exercise, etc. Seems to be pretty useful! The only problem is a lot of the stuff we eat isn’t added to their system yet, so I have to manually enter everything once. But then it’s stored for future use.

  3. Rosi says:

    You go girl! I am in desperate need of a more healthy ‘all around’ lifestyle change. Not necessarily the weight factor, but a good exercise plan sounds motivating to get me back in gear. Good luck and keep us updated!

    • Cheryce says:

      Yeah, you’ve never had a weight problem. Lol. Kinda like my fiancé. He can eat an entire cow & not gain an ounce. You guys suck. Ha.

      I cant speak for the rest of my family, but I have felt SO much healthier in general since we started seeking out organic & minimally processed food. Groceries are more expensive that way. And it certainly takes longer to shop (especially when the selection in your town is limited). But it is totally worth it. If I eat fast food now, or heavy restaurant food, it makes me feel sick. I consider that a good thing! Down with corn & grease & 3lbs of meat a day! (and hopefully the last 25lbs of me!)

Leave a Reply

