More research for my FFF project…

… and some websites & books for you to check out, if you so choose. I picked up a few books at the library today, and so far it looks like I’m dead right. It’s going to be nearly impossible to stick to that sort of regime in this era. Even food that is quote natural has additives, modifications, and preservatives woven through out.

Ok, back to sharing…

http://www.cspinet.org/reports/chemcuisine.htm

http://www.foodnews.org/

http://www.foodnews.org/fulllist.php

http://www.LocalHarvest.org

http://www.FoodRoutes.org

http://www.FarmToTable.org

Stuffed explores how food companies have spent the last fifty years largely ignoring healthier fare in the name of their bottom lines while pushing consumers toward "convenience" food and supersize portions without considering the health consequences.

As Planck reveals, in her compellingly smart Real Food: What to Eat and Why, much of what we have learned about nutrition in the past generation or so is either misinformed or dead wrong, and almost all of the food invented in the last century, and especially since the Second World War, is worse than almost all of the food that we've been eating since we developed agriculture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More research for my FFF project…

  1. Jacque says:

    Good for you! I think I might have mentioned this book to you before, Superfoods RX by Dr. Pratt http://www.superfoodsrx.com/

    I started with that one because it was fairly simple – just 15 foods that have the biggest bang for the health buck. Easier to start out and then build on it. I’ve been working on our family diet for over 2 years now and it is NOT easy. I just looked at my cottage cheese container yesterday and found ARTIFICIAL COLOR?? WTF? What color is it supposed to be? Back to the grocery shelf I’ll go and find one that’s a little closer to nature.

    Anyway, don’t expect to overhaul everything all at once, you’ll never remember what you’re shopping for and go right back to your familiar brands/products. Pick something to start with first, like meat or produce. I started with produce (with the RX book). I also got a TON of use out of the EWG website http://www.ewg.org/home

    You can check all sorts of products here and find less toxic alternatives, sometimes even turn out to BE the cheaper brands (perhaps less chemicals, colorings, lab research etc. can actually translate into a lower cost product).
    I found that the Pillsbury biscuits (that come in those little cardboard tubes that you pop open) have trans fat in them, but if you get the HiTop/generic brand, there is NO trans fat and they’re like, a dollar cheaper. So there you go. πŸ™‚

    One overall rule that I’ve had to adapt to is buying/eating less but spending the same or a little more on groceries. Organic chicken grown locally is more expensive, but we don’t each need a whole breast. Slice up one breast and cook it with veggies, like stir fry. We don’t suffer from any lack of protein! Besides, the drum has just as nice white meat and is way cheaper.

    Think of it this way, what extra you spend on good quality foods now you will save later on medical bills.

    Good luck!

  2. Heather says:

    You’re right about the additives and such! For a start on getting us healthier, I’ve started reading labels. If I can’t pronounce it or it doesn’t seem like it belongs there, I put it back. I’ve also started using cookbooks more because it’s a good guide to cutting back on how much I use of different things.

    I’m going to have to check out the book that Jacque mentioned!

  3. pdxby7 says:

    For me, the hardest part has been trying to weed out all the corn byproducts in our diet! I swear, the grocery store is filled with nothing but corn with makeup on! I’ve been researching all the different names they use for corn and other common ingredients that aren’t good in mass quantities. That’s the next blog. πŸ™‚

    ~C

Leave a Reply

