Uh, yum! (Make that SUPER yum!)

I came up with a new recipe tonight. Yep, all in my head. I like to do that; to try new things & expand my cooking circle away from the six or seven we usually eat on a rotating basis. To tell you the truth, I’m always slightly surprised when I whip something up and it turns out well. The kids and the guy all liked it, and had seconds. I’d consider that a success! I do have to regrets, however. The first was, that I made it tonight. We are having some family over tomorrow and it would have been really good, maybe better than taco soup & the quesidillas I plan to make for tomorrow.

Here is the recipe, in case you’re interested. I should have taken pictures!By the way, I don’t measure when I make food up. I’ll try my best to guesstimate for you.

Two packages of the tri-colored rotini

Two boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sauteed in…

One pound shredded Italian cheese mix

About 1 1/2 cups Panko bread crumbs

2 or 3 tbs of EVOO

One large diced tomato

Cook pasta according to package; however, do NOT overcook. You want it to be slightly chewy still. Somewhere between ‘al dente’ and mush.Drain well.

Meanwhile, cook chicken thoroughly, and dice into small cubes. Coat large baking dish and add 3/4ths of the cooked pasta. Top with a drizzle of olive oil.

Put the diced chicken on top of the bed of pasta. Cover with the entire pound of cheeses. Sprinkle with pepper, tomatoes, and Italian seasoning mix.

In a small bowl, mix olive oil with Panko crumbs. Coat well, then spread evenly on top of cheese. (The crumb mixture will not coat the entire batch.)

Bake at 350F until cheese browns, and begins to bubble. (We served ours with broccoli, but a salad & bread would probably be more authentic Italian!)

*As a side note, I think that the next time I make it, I may mix the pasta with something… perhaps vegetable or chicken broth? And some of the cheese. It was still SO good though!

** We also had strawberry shortcake for dessert, and lemme tell ya. Those strawberries tasted like SPRING! Yum!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

