I’ve been going about this all wrong.

My housekeeping schedule has always been smashed in to fit in the leftover hours at the end of the day, after dinner & homework & bedtime. Or cleaning all day long, only to look back & realize that nothing is done. Until recently I honestly haven’t been able to figure out where I’m going wrong. Is it just too much STUFF? Not enough closet space? Too many kids? Let’s see.

We donated half of a UHaul full of STUFF when we moved in here, and have made multiple trips since. We don’t have enough closet space, but the ones we have are organized carefully and packed to the max. And since getting rid of children really isn’t an option….

In all honesty I’ve always been to much of a perfectionist to have a clean house. Sounds backward, huh? Think about it. When a perfectionist picks up an item, say a piece of paper, they panic. The possibilities of what to do with said paper are vast. Do I throw it away? File it? Which folder would it be filed in? What if I can’t find it when I need it? And if it is one of the kids school papers, forget it. That baby is getting stuck on top of an every growing mountain of papers to be saved for memorabilia purposes. Perfectionists can’t decide WHAT do do, therefor we do nothing. We can conveniently block out the clutter just to avoid that panic moment for a few minutes longer.

I don’t know about others, but for myself, I hit a breaking point. I go on a rampage, decluttering & clearing out what ever I can in order to gain sanity back. Clutter makes me crazy once I really see it. I hate disorganization. Messy bookshelves over flowing and toy boxes spilling will put me in a foul mood quicker than anything.

So my realization that I would just have to make do with the storage, stuff, and people I have is really a hard one to reach. Knowing that our condo is just not big enough, and that we really can’t do anything about it right now is hard to swallow. Until we decide what our next move is, we are stuck here though.

Which leaves me at my point. I HAVE to find a way to get our family’s belongings under control. This morning, Parker woke up at 4:30 and showed no desire to go back to bed. I’ve now been awake for 4 hours, and it’s not even 9:00. While Daddy & the kids were still sleeping, I managed to clean the entire kitchen, including mopping, in only an hour. (Trust me, it was an accomplishment!)

The problem with trying to fit the housework in around school, work, and nap schedules is, it never happens. I would much rather spend quality time with my family then clean all evening after Ryan is home to help with the parenting. Not to mention, with soccer, wedding planning, and errands to run, it never really gets done anyway. My new goal is to wake earlier then the kids and tackle some cleaning while everyone gets ready for their day. I’m not really a morning person, so this should be interesting. But something definitely has to change in this house before I fill the dumpster up with our stuff. I could use all of the karma, prayers, and positive thoughts you have to spare… My family would sure appreciate a clean house & sane mom. 🙂

This entry was posted in Housekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve been going about this all wrong.

  1. jacqleo says:

    How I couldn't agree with you more! I hate clutter, and it's EVERYWHERE. Especially the papers! I think your perfectionist theory hits it right on. Oh my, we could sit and share this topic over a glass of wine for hours, haha! But I'll spare the excessive commenting here. 🙂 Suffice to say, you really never have enough space, the clutter just gets bigger.

  2. Pdxby7 says:

    I would be ashamed to admit exactly how many piles of paper really are in this house… In fact, there is a storage tote in the kids closet full of school worksheets & projects. And our table, desk, and dresser are pretty much stacked out. :/ I could use a few glasses of wine, and then a drastic "i don't care what goes" clean sweep. Lol

Leave a Reply

